RES Director appointed to Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander business growth & innovation group

RES Director, Leann Wilson has been appointed by the Queensland Premier, Anastasia Palaszcuk, as one of 13 members of the newly formed ‘Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Business and Innovation Group’ during the inaugural meeting of the group on the 30th November 2016 in Brisbane.

The Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Business and Innovation Group (Reference Group) has been set up to provide strategic advice to the Queensland Minister for Innovation, Science and the Digital Economy and the Minister for Small Business, Leeanne Enoch on business and innovation matters that impact Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities.

This is a great honor and opportunity for Leann and RES to lend both knowledge and experience to help influence government policies and initiatives for the betterment of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities and in particular their relationship and involvement with businesses and governments.

Following her appointment to the group, Leann commented ‘The calibre of the members of this newly formed group and is testament to the business and innovative minds of Queensland’s Indigenous entrepreneurs and it is humbling and exciting to be a part of this panel’.

The Reference Group, who's aim is to help increase the number and support Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander businesses, entrepreneurs and innovators, has appointed 13 members from the Queensland business community that offer an enormous breadth of knowledge and experience.

"There is no shortage of talent amongst Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and no shortage of enthusiasm for starting innovative businesses,” said Ms Enoch.

“The Business and Innovation Reference Group will help Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander business people get their ideas noticed as well as fast track their access to the training, mentorship and support needed to turn early stage ideas into successful business ventures.

“This is an important step for Queensland and for helping Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people achieve economic independence.

The members of the group include:


  • Charlie Jia, South East Queensland Indigenous Chamber of Commerce
  • Colin Saltmere, The Myuma Group &Rainbow Gateway Ltd
  • Donisha Duff, Kidney Health Australia
  • Leann Wilson, Regional Economic Solutions
  • Leesa Watego, Iscariot Media
  • Leigh Harris, Ingeous Studios
  • Julie-ann Lambourne, enVizion Group Inc
  • Michelle Deshong, Michelle Deshong and Associates
  • Noel Niddrie, Winangali Logistics
  • Shane Kennelly, Kennelly Constructions
  • Terri Waller, SevGen Indigenous Corporation
  • Wanita Gosbee, Successful Entrepreneur
  • Wayne Denning, Carbon Media

Click to read the full Queensland Government Media Statement >